Tongariro National Park Area, New Zealand

Since we all survived skydiving in Taupo, we continued our road trip from Taupo to the Tongariro National Park Area. One of the main reasons for our visit was to see Mt Ngauruhoe, which was used as Mount Doom in the Lord of The Rings. We were pretty tired by the time we made it to our hostel, so besides a few stops for scenic overlooks, we just hung out for the night.

One of my favorite parts about road tripping throughout New Zealand was all the beautiful views around every corner!

Unfortunately, the day we were to spend hiking around different trails surrounding Whakapapa Village, it was pouring down rain. I managed to do the 20 minute round trip hike of Tawhai Falls. There was a small parking lot at the entrance and there were steps that took you down to the falls. Since the path was covered by trees, I didn’t get too wet in the rain.

I would LOVE to return and do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing someday. While the rest of our group went indoor rock climbing, I decided to check out the Waimarino Scientific Reserve. I got excited when I saw this sign because I thought maybe I’d get to see a famous kiwi! Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

After this, we drove to Wellington for the night and then flew to Queenstown the next morning!

Previous Post: Taupo, New Zealand

Leave a Reply

