Taupo, New Zealand

Our main reason for visiting Taupo was to go skydiving! Even though we have skydiving places in the states, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to go in the skydiving capital of the world! We got to Taupo the day before and walked along the Huka Falls Walkway. The next morning, we jumped out of a plane!!!

This was the view from the parking lot walking towards the falls and the hot spring!

To the right of the bridge shown below was a small hot spring that we sat in on our way back from visiting the falls.

At the start of the Huka Falls walk, there is a small hot spring that you can sit in, similar to a hot tub! The air was cool, but the water was nice and warm.

 

Taupo was very beautiful at night and we were all anxious to see what it looked like from above!

Now… onto skydiving! I was extremely nervous leading up to this day, but once we got to Taupo Tandem Skydiving, my anxiety went away. Everyone was very professional and calm, which helped me immensely. Once I met my tandem instructor and realized he does this several times a day and hasn’t died, I knew I was going to be okay!

The worst part of all these pictures is how ridiculous I look with those darn goggles and helmet!

As the plane climbed, we were given oxygen masks and I was thankful for it!

Getting my first glimpse out of the plane and the ground, 15,000 feet below!

My tandem instructor did a backflip out of the plane and it took my head a few seconds to comprehend what was happening. I was falling towards the ground, but looking straight up at the sky! It wasn’t the best feeling, haha.

Once I got acclimated to what was going on, my instructor and I had fun taking selfies.

I paid extra to have someone else dive with us and take cool pictures like the two below. I was given a USB afterwards with all my pictures and a really awesome short video of my adventure!

Besides my ears having trouble popping, the parachuting was the worst part for me. I suffer from motion sickness and every time we turned the parachute, I felt that nauseating feeling in the pit of my stomach. My instructor did let me guide the parachute for a few moments, which was pretty neat!

I SURVIVED!!!

I was happy to have both feet on the ground, though I was still suffering from an unpopped ear and some dizziness. Not sure I’ll go skydiving again, but I’m really glad I went!

Previous Post: Rotorua, New Zealand

Leave a Reply

