Fort Worden State Park, Washington

On my drive from Seattle to Port Angeles, I decided to make a short stop in Port Townsend, Washington. This town is home to Fort Worden State Park and its many things to do! On the park grounds there is an old fort with many rooms to wander around. I had an eerie feeling when I first started exploring the fort and was happy when a few other park visitors joined me. Some of the rooms got very dark and my cellphone flashlight came in handy.

The park is right on the water and on a clear day, you can see Canada! I enjoyed walking along the beach and checking out all the driftwood.

Near the fort, you can find the Point Wilson Lighthouse. I loved the view of the lighthouse sitting on the edge of the rocks overlooking the water.

There were a few other stops within the park as well as a campground. I found it worthwhile for a quick stop on my way to Port Angeles.

Related Posts: Vancouver, Seattle, Snoqualmie Falls

Leave a Reply

