Vancouver, Canada

I’ve always wanted to go to the Western Coast of Canada and I finally had the opportunity in May 2016. I flew into Seattle, Washington and drove the 2.5 hours to Vancouver. I managed to squeeze quite a bit of adventure into one weekend, which you can read about below.

Grouse Mountain
I had planned to do the Grouse Grind, which takes you up many stairs and a steep trail to the top of Grouse Mountain.

I wasn’t feeling the workout that morning, so I opted for the skyride to the top. If you click here, you can see a list of all the activities available at the top of the mountain! There was a beautiful view of Vancouver from the top and I also enjoyed visiting with the bears.

Capilano Suspension Bridge
If you search for things to do in Vancouver, the Capilano Suspension Bridge is at the top of every list. Some visitors had trouble walking across the bridge knowing it’s a very steep drop below, but I enjoyed the experience. It was a bit wobbly, but fun! They also have a treetop adventure course that I walked along.

Lynn Canyon Suspension Bridge
I hadn’t planned to go to two suspension bridges in one day, but I read about the hiking trails at Lynn Canyon and decided to go for it. After crossing the bridge, I walked along most of the trails in the park. Rice Lake was one of my favorite stops.

Dog Mountain
One of my goals for my Pacific Northwest trip was to do a lot of hiking. I decided to hike up Dog Mountain, which has a beautiful view of Vancouver from its peak. The hike was rather strenuous at times and super slippery and icy even in May, but the views during the hike were worth it. Plus I love the snow and got a little too excited when I saw there was lots!

A Christmas tree at the top of Dog Mountain!

Lighthouse Park
I’m always a sucker for lighthouses. How can you not love photographing them? I visited Lighthouse Park, which had a very easy trail that anyone could do to view the lighthouse. There were some other trails I explored to get closer to the shore. The view was spectacular!

Stanley Park
Stanley Park is seriously huge! I had a car so I drove around the park, parked the car, and got out to explore each stop. There’s a really great view of Lion’s Gate Bridge from the park. There are quite a few beaches that I stopped at as well as the totem poles and the aquarium.

Inukshuk
In traditional Canadian fashion, there was an Inukshuk monument that I stopped to snap a few photos of!

After my weekend in Vancouver, I made my way back to Seattle. Along the border, I spotted the Peace Arch and the Welcome to the US sign!

I loved my visit to Vancouver and hope to go back someday and head more North! Have you ever visited Vancouver? What were your favorite parts?

Leave a Reply

