Chiang Mai, Thailand

After 2 days in Bangkok, we flew to Chiang Mai early in the morning. We got to our guesthouse, the Bed and Terrace Guesthouse, and then set out to tour the many temples of Chiang Mai.

We visited Wat Chiang Man, which is Chiang Mai’s oldest temple and home to the crystal buddha.

Wat Phra Singh looked different from many of the others we visited. I especially loved the dragons!

Wat Chedi Luang was one of my favorites. I enjoyed looking at all the elephants and getting a glimpse into Thailand’s history.

I’m having trouble remembering which wat complex this was from, but I remember being super shocked I couldn’t go in just because I’m a woman!

It was very interesting to see such a plain-looking wood temple. This is Wat Phan Tao.

On our last night in Chiang Mai, we went to a Muay Thai Boxing match. I had never been to any sort of boxing match, so I didn’t know what to expect. We were able to order food and drinks from our seats and watched many different matches.

At one point, they blindfolded 3 guys and had them try to fight each other. It was pretty hilarious and entertaining.

I’m not much of a boxing fan, but I had a great time at the match! After Chiang Mai we flew to Luang Prabang, Laos, which I’ll share about in a later post.

Related Posts: Bangkok, Ayutthaya

Leave a Reply

