Bangkok, Thailand

A few friends and I spent two weeks traveling around Southeast Asia in November and December 2015. We flew into Bangkok and spent our first full day exploring the city.

We stayed at Samsen Skyline Hostel, which was about a 10 minute walk to Khaosan Road and 30 minutes to the Grand Palace. Our first stop was the National Museum. The museum complex was rather large with different exhibits in separate buildings. We took our time walking around each exhibit, enjoying the air conditioning when we could. I had never seen so many Buddha statues in one place!

My favorite part was seeing all the royal funeral chariots! That may sound a little morbid, but each one was very intricately carved and decorated.

After a short lunch break and my first official Thai meal, we visited the Grand Palace complex. The place was PACKED for our visit and I quickly learned how much I hate people using umbrellas as sun protection. We finally made our way inside and I immediately got asked by two teenage Asian girls if they could get their picture taken with me. I was so confused and taken by surprise, I said yes. Who knows, maybe I’m famous somewhere in the world now haha.

We walked around and tried to squeeze in pictures when we could. I enjoyed the many statues and also how each building looked very different from the last.

I had trouble enjoying my visit as a whole because of how crowded it was, but I’m still glad I went.

Our next stop was Wat Pho where we got to see a giant reclining Buddha!

We visited enough temples and saw plenty of Buddhas for one day. The next day, we went on a day trip to Ayutthaya, which I’ll write about in my next post! We went out for dinner two nights in a row near Khaosan Road. One night I was adventurous with my meal and the other, I couldn’t pass up waffles and ice cream.

We spent time walking around Khaosan Road buying elephant pants shown earlier in one of my photos as well as cheap tank tops. The joke in Southeast Asia is “same same, but different” as in, you’ll see the same things everywhere. We also gave in and got foot massages after our second day of nonstop walking. I say “gave in” because everywhere we walked, we were asked if we wanted a massage. It was nice to sit down for 30 minutes in air condition and relax at least!

Have you ever been to Bangkok? What did you enjoy the most?

4 thoughts on “Bangkok, Thailand

Leave a Reply

