2015 Travel Adventures

It hasn’t been quite a full year since I started this blog, but I thought it would be fun to post a summary of my adventures in 2015. I managed to visit 4 new countries, countless new cities, a few new states, and hiked several mountains! Below is a short summary broken out by month.

1. January
After Christmas 2014, two friends and I set out on a road trip to New Mexico. We spent New Year’s Day in New Orleans wandering through the crowds of fans there for the Alabama/OSU Bowl Game. We took a few more days getting back to NJ with stops in Natchez & Vicksburg, MS, Birmingham, AL & Chattanooga, TN.

IMG_7005

IMG_7060

A friend and I also ventured to the Poconos for a morning of snow tubing at Blue Mountain. I love that day trips still make me feel adventurous and are a great substitute for any traveler who can’t get away for long!

2. February
No new adventures to report in February, but I wrote my very first blog post this month! Check it out here.

3. March
The beginning of March was spent in Texas visiting Dallas, San Antonio and Austin. I had visited Texas during my road trip in December, but this trip gave me the opportunity to visit a few more cities and spend more time exploring. This was the first trip I completely planned and went on by myself. I had an amazing time and learned that it’s not so bad traveling by yourself as well as a few travel tips!

4. April
April was full of house hunting and planning for upcoming adventures.

5. May
With a house offer accepted a few days before, my sister and I set out for Guayaquil, Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. We spent an incredible week traveling between the islands with our Contiki tour group. A few highlights included seeing a whale for the first time, swimming with sea turtles, and hanging out with giant tortoises older than I’ll ever be!

6. June
Though I spent most of June painting and moving into my new house, I made time for some weekend fun. I visited Asbury Park, NJ for a Third Eye Blind & Dashboard Confessional concert with my siblings for our Second Annual Sibling Day.

Towards the end of June, a friend and I visited Gettysburg, PA for the weekend. I got to ride a horse around the Gettysburg battlefields and even though I was sore, I was in heaven!

7. July
July was full of church camps and family get togethers. Though these don’t typically qualify as “travel adventures,” sometimes my favorite adventures are the ones I experience at home with my family and friends.

8. August
A friend of mine found a Livingsocial deal for the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge in Vermont. So, a few friends and I took part in the challenge and spent the weekend away in Vermont. A few highlights were hiking the Haystack Trail to the top of a mountain and kicking butt at the adventure challenge! You can read about our experience here.

9. September
Road trip time! This time two friends and I set out for a road trip around Canada! We explored the provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia for a week. On the way home, we also stopped in Maine. The trip included a lot of hiking, good food, museums, and amazing sights!

10. October
I didn’t go far in October, but I enjoyed a weekend in Central Pennsylvania at my 5 year college reunion.

11. November
November began with a trip to Bushkill Falls and hiking the Delaware Water Gap. I had wanted to go hiking ever since returning from my Canada road trip and this was the perfect day trip!

By far my biggest trip of the year started in November! The day after Thanksgiving, 3 friends and I set out for Southeast Asia. Our first stop after a layover in Tokyo was Bangkok, Thailand.

12. December
To continue our adventure around Southeast Asia, we visited Chiang Mai, Phuket and Koh Phi Phi in Thailand as well as Luang Prabang, Laos and Siem Reap, Cambodia. This was my very first time ever visiting Asia and I can’t wait to go back! Stay tuned for the many blog posts on my Southeast Asia experience!

Phew! 2015 is going to be hard to beat. Looking back on this list, I feel truly blessed to have had all the opportunities I did! I can’t wait to see what 2016 holds.

What was your favorite part of 2015? Do you have any suggestions for 2016 adventures?

Related Posts: 2016 Adventures

Leave a Reply

