Canada Road Trip – Quebec City

After our morning and part of the afternoon in Montreal, we drove the 2.5 hours to Quebec City. We had planned to spend the entire next day in the city, but had some free time the night before, so we decided to head there a little earlier than expected and walk around.

Quebec City is split into the Upper and Lower Town, with a steep walk to get between the two. We spent the beginning of our evening exploring the Upper Town. Our first stop was to walk around and climb on the old city walls that are still around the city.

From here, we were able to get a view of the city.

My favorite part of the old city wall was this entrance into the city.

We then saw the Notre Dame Cathedral of Quebec City.

We spent quite a bit of time walking around the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac photographing the beautiful hotel from many angles.

Where the Upper Town meets the Lower Town, there are city walls to walk along and lots of cannons to play around with!

We then made our way to the Lower Town. We decided to walk down and take the funicular back up. My favorite part of the Lower Town was all the old French-style buildings.

We also got a spectacular view of the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac from below!

We took the funicular back to the Upper Town in search of a restaurant for dinner.

One of my goals for visiting Quebec was to have a crepe so I could compare it to the ones I’ve had in France. We found a small market area where I was able to get a dessert crepe and chow down! Honestly, it was good but definitely not as good as something I’ve had in France. This could be due to the place we stopped at though!

In search of some more substantial food for dinner, we walked a bit out of the touristy area and ended up at Bistro L’Accent. It was here that I was able to try two more foods on my Quebec/Canada “to do” list – snails and poutine!!!

For the most part, I enjoyed the different foods that I tried. I probably won’t choose to eat snails again and would rather have ketchup with my fries, but I’m glad I tried both!

After dinner, we drove to our hotel for the night, the Hotel Rayalco. We had booked this hotel before we left on the trip with the intention that we’d spend all day in Montreal and get to our hotel late before heading to Quebec City the next morning. Since we got done in Montreal early and spent the afternoon in Quebec City, we ended up back tracking about 45 minutes to get to our hotel. However, the price was reasonable and the staff were incredibly hospitable. The owner gave me several maps to use for the next few days on our drives to other places near Quebec and also recommended a few parking spots in the city and things to do.

The next morning, we got up early and spent time at the Quebec City Citadelle. You can read all about that and my man (goat), Batisse, in my next post!

Related Posts: Gananoque & Kingston, Ontario, Ottawa, Montreal

Recommendations:

  • Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac – Definitely worth walking around. I would seriously consider staying there the next time I visit the city just for the experience!
  • Bistro L’Accent – The three of us enjoyed the food we had and prices were very reasonable. There was also a bar available for drinks.
  • Hotel Rayalco – This hotel may not look like much in pictures, but I enjoyed my stay. You get what you pay for bedroom wise, but the owner was helpful and the wifi was strong!
Leave a Reply

