Day 6: Galapagos Islands

Sadly, Day 6 was the last full day I spent in the Galapagos Islands. Luckily, it was an adventure packed day! The plan was to go snorkeling, eat lunch on the boat, and then head to a private beach to relax! Before we left the island, we were given the option to rent a $7 wetsuit for the day. I opted for one incase the water was cold and to avoid getting sunburn on my back.

Our group split in half and boarded boats to head to Kicker Rock. On the way, we rode along the cost of San Cristobal Island and saw the famous Blue Footed Boobies! Blue Footed Boobies are similar to a seagull, but with blue feet. Unfortunately, the camera I had wasn’t very good at zooming in, so I didn’t get any really good pictures of them.

As we went along the coast of the island, we saw some white rocks. Our guide explained most of the rocks were white from birds sitting on them to do their business, haha. We also saw some sea lions and many other kinds of birds.

We finally made our way to Kicker Rock!

Before hopping in, we talked about what we might see in the water. Sometimes snorkelers see sea turtles, sea lions, sharks, hammerhead sharks, eagle rays and even whales! I only saw a ton of fish, sea turtles, and small sharks, but that was enough for me! I forgot to mention that I did see a whale from the boat ride to San Cristobal Island the day before. It was pretty incredible!

As I mentioned in my Day 2 post, I get seasick very easily. We sat on the boat talking about the different sea life for so long, I started to feel nauseous. I made it in the water for snorkeling, but had to cut my adventure short because I was feeling sick.

Once everyone was done snorkeling, we had lunch on the boat and set out for the beach. We anchored a little ways off from the shore and walked to the beach. The bugs were horrendous, but it was nice to take a break from being on the water! We were able to swim, relax on the beach, and even go for a short walk. The view was incredible and despite the bugs, I had an awesome time on the beach!

When we were done, we boarded the boat again and set out for San Cristobal Island. Our Contiki tour included a delicious BBQ dinner where we could choose from all sorts of meat and seafood. I got the chicken, surprise, surprise, haha.

Here’s a video, including some clips from snorkeling! I hope you enjoy!

If you missed any prior days, here are the links: Day 0, Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5

One thought on “Day 6: Galapagos Islands

Leave a Reply

