Day 0: Galapagos Islands

I have some super exciting news to share! I am leaving today for the Galapagos Islands off the coast of Ecuador!!

My sister, Kelsey, and I have been planning this trip for about 6 months, but talking about it for years. We decided to book our trip through Contiki, which is a company geared towards 18-35 year olds. I’ve heard really great things about the company and their tours, so part of my excitement is to experience a Contiki tour for the first time! The downside of going with a tour group is we’re paying more than we would be if we went it alone, but we only have a week and neither of us know Spanish, so this was the best alternative.

We are flying into Guayaquil, Ecuador and spending a day exploring the city before meeting up with our tour group. Once we meet up with the group, we’re flying to the islands. Here’s a map of where the tour stops!

I am most excited to see the famous giant tortoises and hopefully swim with some sea turtles! We plan to go snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, and biking. We will be taking boats between the islands and should see plenty of birds, penguins (YES!!!!), iguanas, sea lions, and more!

I’ll be sure to share all about my trip with plenty of pictures when I get back!! If you’d like to follow me on my adventure, you can find me on Twitter (@dubba13) or Instagram (@lduboistravel). I’ll be updating both along the way!

Adios! (check out that Spanish right there! haha)

P.S. – The cover photo is actually from my trip to Puerto Rico awhile back. I’m hoping I’ll have even better pictures to share when I get back from this trip!

2 thoughts on “Day 0: Galapagos Islands

Leave a Reply

