5 Texas Travel Tips

Here are 5 travel tips for any trip to Texas!

1) Texas is a BIG state

This one is probably pretty obvious, but I learned the reality of it when I decided to drive 4.5 hours from Dallas to San Antonio. I was probably a little too ambitious in wanting to visit a city so far away for only 2 days, but it was worth it!

2) Rent a car

If you’re flying into Texas and plan to venture outside of the cities, rent a car. Some major cities in Texas have public transportation, but you’re limiting yourself if you want to see more than just one city. I flew in and out of Dallas and really liked that the airport has shuttles that take you to one location where all the rental car companies are.

3) I-35 is an awesome highway

There was never a time between Dallas and San Antonio where I couldn’t quickly get off the highway. I was very impressed with how easy it was to get off and back on the highway and the selection of gas stations and food places to stop at.

4) There are soooo many food options

I made it a point to try restaurants that we don’t have in NJ and I barely put a dent in the places I wanted to check out. I’d recommend Whataburger, In-N-Out and Taco Cabana (if you’re willing to deal with slow service). Raising Cane’s was also good!

5) Prepare for the weather

Everyone thinks Texas is warm year round, but that isn’t the case. I needed a winter coat a few days during my trip in the beginning of March. I also visited Texas in December and experienced the worst ice storm I’ve ever been in!

That’s pretty much it! If you think I missed something or have any questions, feel free to ask!

Other Posts on Travel Tips: U.S. Road Trip Tips, Peru Travel Tips

2 thoughts on “5 Texas Travel Tips

Leave a Reply

