San Antonio, TX – Part 2

In my previous post, I mentioned I was about to set out on Mission Rd. in San Antonio to see the different missions similar to the Alamo. There are 4 missions within the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park. They include Mission Concepcion, Mission San Jose, Mission San Juan, and Mission Espada. The missions were created to convert the Native Americans to Christianity and also work as a community. I drove between the four missions, but you can also bike the 16ish miles between them all if you have the time! Each mission was free to park at and walk around. Some had visitor centers where you could walk through and look at the different exhibits. I also appreciated that each had its own public bathroom and water fountains!

My first stop was the Mission Concepcion (see cover photo).

The next stop along Mission Rd. was Mission San Jose. Each mission had a church and farming fields. At some of the missions you could see where the Native Americans lived. I thought the ceiling below was interesting!

A downside of traveling alone – no one to take pics for me! So, prepare yourself for lots of selfies, haha.

The Mission San Jose was probably my favorite to walk around. The next stop was Mission San Juan.

Apparently someone lives in this house on the mission grounds!

Cemetery on the grounds!

The last mission I visited was the Mission Espada.

After my tour of the missions, I headed to Ingram, TX. I’ll share about that in my next post. In the meantime, I’ve been trying to force myself to try different Texan foods. I’ve been to Whataburger and Taco Cabana so far and enjoyed both!

Recommendations:

  • San Antonio Missions National Historical Park – Definitely check out the 4 missions. They’re free and easy to drive between. Each one was different and very educational!
  • Whataburger – I got the Honey BBQ Chicken Strip Sandwich (surprise, surprise) and it was seriously soooo good! The service was quick and the place was nice and clean!
  • Taco Cabana – I got the chicken fajita bowl, which was good, but the service was super slow and they included tomatoes that I asked to have excluded. I’m not sure I’d go back.
4 thoughts on “San Antonio, TX – Part 2

Leave a Reply

