Road Trip 2014 – Austin & New Orleans

As I mentioned in my last post, we ran into an ice storm on our way to Austin, TX. I woke up on New Year’s Eve to an inch of ice on my car that took 30 minutes to remove! I’ve never been more thankful to have an ice scraper and was even able to lend it to a fellow traveler who needed help getting the ice off of his truck. We set out for Austin, TX again and experienced the same icy roads we saw the night before. The image at the top shows how much ice was on the side of the highway!

After a very stressful day driving in icy conditions, we finally made it to Austin just in time for dinner. We were pretty disappointed because we had planned to spend the entire day in Austin doing outdoorsy stuff, but I guess it isn’t a road trip unless something goes wrong! We decided to go to Torchy’s Tacos and had an amazing dinner! Torchy’s is a taco restaurant chain in Texas with some unique tacos.

IMG_6992
Definitely not Taco Bell

Sadly, the only other thing we had time to do in Austin was drive by the Texas State Capitol building, which looked very impressive! We spent our New Year’s Eve in the car rocking out to some music and heading to Louisiana.

The next morning we got up and drove to New Orleans. Yes, we braved New Orleans on New Year’s Day, which also happened to be the day of the OSU vs. University of Alabama bowl game.

IMG_7021

We managed to find parking and headed for Jackson Square in the French Quarter. We visited the St. Louis Cathedral shown below.

IMG_7005

IMG_7011
Inside the cathedral

There were lots of people in the streets selling items as well as doing palm and tarot card readings. We walked along Bourbon Street and ventured inside a voodoo store. I definitely have no desire to ever go inside another one. They had altars throughout where people could leave items as offerings and pray.

IMG_7012
Bourbon Street – You can see the balconies where people throw beads from during Mardi Gras

One of my goals for New Orleans was to try some traditional Louisiana food. For lunch, I had gumbo, jambalaya and crawfish pie. A trifecta of food that I really didn’t like! For those that don’t know me, I’m not a very adventurous eater, but I will try anything once! The jambalaya was very spicy and my taste buds were on fire!

IMG_7013
Gumbo
IMG_7014
Jambalaya & Crawfish Pie

We also went to the Saint Louis Cemetery Number One with its above ground tombs. The cemetery was closed to visitors since it was New Year’s Day, but we were able to sneak some pictures through the fence. The “voodoo princess,” Marie Laveau, is supposedly buried in this cemetery, along with other famous people and thousands of others.

IMG_7018

After lunch, we headed to Natchez, Mississippi and actually checked in to our hotel before 10 pm, a first for the road trip. You can read in my next post about Natchez & Vicksburg, MS as well as an amazing “tater” I had for dinner in Alabama!!!

Recommendations:

Want to stay up-to-date with my posts? Here’s how to follow me:

If you click on the icon in the upper right (it looks like 3 bars on top of each other) and scroll to the bottom, you can click “follow.” This allows you to sign up for email notifications when I make a post!

One thought on “Road Trip 2014 – Austin & New Orleans

Leave a Reply

